Call for Papers

Third International Workshop on Assurance in Distributed Systems and Networks (ADSN 2004)

Tokyo, Japan
March 23, 2004

Note! The submission deadline is extended to September 15.

Sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Distributed Processing. In cooperation with IEICE Technical Committee on Information Networks and IEICE Technical Committee on Dependable Computing.

This workshop will be held in conjunction with the 24th International Conference on Distributed Computing Systems (ICDCS 2004)(see for detail

The objective of this Workshop is to provide an effective forum for original scientific and engineering advances in Assurance in Distributed Systems and Networks. Along with recent rapid growth of the Internet, autonomous decentralized systems are connected with each other. In these systems, heterogeneous requirements are independently generated and the requirements themselves change frequently. Assurance in these systems is defined as capability of adaptability to heterogeneous and changing requirements. The workshop is of interest in the sense that requirements for assurance in distributed systems and networks are increasing in the future Internet and technologies on assurance including integration of various technologies on real time, fault tolerance, autonomy, mobility and intelligence have high possibilities to cope with complex distributed systems and networks.

Topics of interest for this workshop include, but are not limited to:

Papers and Submissions

Papers must be written in English, and they have to be in Postscript, PDF, or Word format. The complete manuscript should be no more than 12 pages of double-spaced text with 11pt fonts. The following information must be provided on a cover sheet:

  (1) paper title, full name, affiliation of the author(s),
  (2) full name, affiliation, complete address, phone and fax numbers, and
email address of the author to be contacted, as well as
  (3) an abstract (up to a 150 words).

To submit a research paper, please send an electronic version of the manuscript to the program chair Hidenori Nakazato by e-mail.

Authors are expected to present their paper at the Workshop. At least one author of each paper must register for ICDCS to be included in the workshop program.

Accepted papers in the Workshop will be published in the IEEE CS Proceedings of ICDCS2004 Workshops.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline:   September 15, 2003
Notification of acceptance:  October 31, 2003
Camera-ready papers due:     December 20, 2003

General Chair

Kinji Mori, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Vice Chair

Yoshiaki Kakuda, Hiroshima City University, Japan

Program Chair

Hidenori Nakazato, Waseda University, Japan

Vice Program Chairs

Masaki Aida, NTT, Japan
(Chair for Asia and Oceania)

Celestin Koffi Brou, Fraunhofer Fokus, Germany
(Chair for Europe and Africa)

Sandeep Kulkarni, Michigan State University, USA
(Chair for Americas)

Program Committee

Anish Arora, Ohio State University, USA
Thomas Becker, Fraunhofer G. Instituts/FOKUS, Germany
Akira Chugo, Fujitsu, Japan
Jorge A. Cobb, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Walter Eaves, University College of London, United Kingdom
Ahmed Farooq, Comtec, Japan
Satoshi Fukumoto, Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan
Mohamed G. Gouda, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Drissa Houattra, R&D France Telecom, France
Chih-wen Hsueh, National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
Hiroyuki Ibe, Toshiba, Japan
Kenji Ishida, Hiroshima City University, Japan
Isao Kaji, Miyagi University, Japan
Mohamed Mancona Kande, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne, Switzerland
Kazuhiro Kusama, Hitachi Ltd., Japan
Jean-Pierre Lenarzul, Ecole Nationale Superieure des Telecommunications de Bretagne, France
Wu-Hon Francis Leung, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
Miroslaw Malek, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin, Germany
Toshiaki Miyazaki, NTT, Japan
Yukikazu Nakamoto, NEC, Japan
Mikhail Nesternko, Kent State University
Nagao Ogino, KDDI D&D Labs, Japan
Joan Serrat, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Dimitrios N. Serpanos, University of Patras, Greece
Yongdong Tan, Southwest Jiaotong University, China
Yasushi Wakahara, University of Tokyo, Japan